Nominations Open for the 2017 SHIFT Awards

Organizers of SHIFT announced today the opening of the nomination period for the 2017 SHIFT Awards.

The SHIFT Awards recognize individuals, initiatives, or organizations that leverage outdoor recreation for conservation gains. Nominees will be evaluated on the basis of innovation, impact, and replicability.

The deadline for nominations is June 1, 2017.

Nominations may be made here.

Self-nominations are welcome.

“The goal of the Awards is to honor work that uses outdoor recreation to produce significant, measurable, and long-term improvements in communities and environments around the country, and that can be easily replicated in other places,” said Christian Beckwith, SHIFT’s director. “Such work is an important part of the national effort to protect our public lands and waters, and we look forward to honoring the best of it at SHIFT.”

Nominations double as research for SHIFT, which uses the results to map the North American outdoor recreation/conservation landscape.

A map of the previous three years’ research may be found here.

The 2017 SHIFT Festival will be held November 1-3 in Jackson Hole, WY. The top 25% of the initiatives researched this year will be showcased in SHIFT’s Marketplace.

The top 10% of initiatives will qualify for the SHIFT Awards, which will be announced on Thursday evening, Nov. 2.

Award categories are as follows:

Non-Profit Leadership: This award recognizes individuals, an initiative, or an organization that make innovative, impactful, and replicable contributions to conservation through human-powered outdoor recreation.

Public Land-Management Innovation: This award recognizes progressive land-management work taking place at local, state, or federal levels.

Business Leadership: This award recognizes an outdoor company, be it retail, guide service, or other business.

Adventure Athlete: This award recognizes an adventure athlete who is also serving as an ambassador for responsible recreation, access, or conservation leadership.

Youth Leadership: This award recognizes an individual under 30 who is promoting recreation for conservation gains.

Youth Engagement: This award recognizes individuals, an initiative, or an organization that make innovative, impactful, and replicable contributions to the conservation/recreation world by engaging young people.

Technology: This award recognizes an app, website, or other technology that promotes responsible recreation, access, or conservation leadership.

“Whether it is supporting the next generation of conservation leadership born from the outdoor experience, engaging the recreation community in a critical conservation issue, or resolving a conflict between user groups that are otherwise aligned, these individuals, initiatives, and organizations are an important part of the outdoor rec/conservation constituency,” said Beckwith. “We’re proud to honor them with the Awards.”

Rocket Fuel